Comparison

ReferLift and Canary for a small hotel

A published guest-request price, next to a hospitality suite that quotes.

Last updated October 4, 2026. Competitor prices are as publicly listed on October 3, 2026. Verify them on the vendor's site before you buy.

Canary and ReferLift do not sell the same job. Canary presents itself as a hospitality management system: messaging, check-in, upsell, tipping, and AI. ReferLift is a guest request inbox. Guests tap a QR code or NFC tag. Staff get the room or the table. There is no guest app.

Canary's homepage title is "#1 Award-Winning Hospitality Management System," and its H1 is "#1 Hospitality Management System." Its marketing says 20,000+ hotels. Those are Canary's words, checked October 3, 2026.

Side by side

TopicReferLiftCanary
Published price$49 per hotel property per month, or $39 per restaurant location. Printed on the pricing page.Quote-only on Canary's pricing page. HotelTechReport lists "from $300/mo." Capterra lists $99/mo flat. Those sources disagree.
Free trial15 days free. A card is required up front. Cancel anytime.Not stated in the sources checked for this page.
Guest appNo. The phone browser opens from a QR code or NFC tag. English and Spanish.Not stated in the sources checked. Canary's pitch is a full hospitality system, not a room QR page.
Hotels and restaurantsBoth. Separate flat plans on one product.Hotel hospitality system. Not a restaurant call-waiter button in the sources checked.
What you are buyingRoom and table requests, a staff inbox, and printable signs. Not a PMS.Messaging, check-in, upsell, tipping, and AI, in Canary's own positioning.

Where ReferLift is the smaller tool

The price is published: $49 per property and $39 per location. You do not wait on a quote, and you do not multiply by the room count. Setup is printing the QR signs. Guests do not install an app. A property that also has a dining room can add the restaurant plan instead of buying a second product.

ReferLift will not check a guest in, sell an upgrade, or run tipping. If that is the purchase, Canary is in a different category and this page should not talk you out of it.

Where Canary fits better

Choose Canary when you want the broader hospitality system it describes, and when you are ready to get a quote. Do not treat the $300 figure and the $99 figure as one price. HotelTechReport and Capterra disagree, and Canary's own pricing page asks you to talk to them. Verify the current number.

ReferLift is not a Canary replacement for a chain that wants check-in, upsells, and messaging in one suite. It is the request layer for a small hotel or restaurant that wants a flat, published price.

Sources

Related

Questions

Common questions

Is ReferLift a cheaper Canary?
It is a different product at a published $49 per property. Canary is a hospitality suite with quote pricing. Two directories list different starting prices, so verify Canary before you compare the numbers.
Does ReferLift include check-in and upsells?
No. ReferLift handles guest requests from a QR code or NFC tag. It is not a check-in system or an upsell engine.
Can a restaurant use ReferLift if it cannot use Canary?
Yes. Restaurants are $39 per location per month. Canary's sources checked for this page describe a hotel system, not a call waiter button.

If you need room requests at a printed price, start with ReferLift.

Get started